top of page

No Weapon for War

I awoke from yet another war zone. The place was different, the people different, and likely the reason for war different. I found myself checking reality as the consistency of the dreams had created a near alternate reality.

For a repertoire of destruction I am not sure how we got here. Here being this point where at the battle lines we lay down our swords. I look to those who surround me, and they look as perplexed and dismayed as I. For the enemy is right before us, and our shields are by our sides. We made our way here through an epic tale of blood and tears, but now at the defining moment between success and defeat we lay our weapons down. The enemy seems to have not heard of this new standard we uphold, for their pace has only quickened. Our men and women surround the children as the battle cries begin. Yet, between the break of metal and darkened eyes I see a twinge of fear breaking through the enemies disguise. For in the face of battle our forces have often been. We come in bold confidence where they come to win. See the difference is in the weapon - one of steel and one of love. We fight not to gain power, but for the one who gave away a title of distinction to save the child whose sword was too heavy to wield. With our swords at our side we are at our greatest. A sword is but a weapon to hide fear behind metal when the fear is too much too take. Yet, in our unified formation there is no entry way for defeat, because no sword can penetrate a war held in victory. Then, what seemed like a whisper amongst the shouts from either side, came the voice of a child from which we hid inside. The words that followed will forever change the battles from this day forth. For in a sweet voice the child declared, "We are your greatest legacy as we came without a single sword."

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.

Ephesians 6:12

In the battles of life, both spiritual and physical, I tend to go in with my earthly weapons only letting the spiritual weapons take me to the rim of battle. The chaos seems in control, because for now I have a shield before me, but when the shield is gone, what is left? Well, me. I am. The spirit within me is the greater weapon no matter the battle before me, and the sooner I take hold of that truth in all realms of life the sooner I realize the battle is a war in which the victory has already been won.

What earthly weapons are you taking to battle?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page